A Night In Paris…A Few Actually

The streets were busy and some what loud. A mix of all kinds of people walking about. Assorted street vendors, artists, food carts, entertainers, and travelers made up most of the street life. I’m in Paris baby! Where’s the cheese!? Where’s the WINE!? Oh just about everywhere! Small cars racing about through the narrow streets. Hundreds of plastered signs on walls along the side walks advertising upcoming events. And of course French people. Lots and lots of French people. My first visit was ‘The Catacombs’. Image

It was dark, damp, with a bit of a stale smell. No flash photography was allowed to I did my best holding still. Millions of bones perfectly placed through out the mile or two of what I liked to call the “tourist path”. Clearly it went a hell of a lot deeper than one could imagine. Most of it was blocked off. Tempting to go scouting around but I’d rather not get lost and die. Or worse, spend the night in a French prison. Way cool and creepy at the same time.

My second stop was “Notre Dame”. Sorry folks but the hunchback was on lunch break. Not much to say about this one only because it was breath taking. The architect is unbelievable. It’s amazing what the human mind can create. Hundreds of candles were lit inside along with appropriate mood lighting. The sun was also coming through the massive stained glass on the sides.
Image

Image

Image

Image

My third visit for the day was of course the Eiffel Tower. I didn’t realize how massive it was. I spent hours admiring the architect and perfection. The lines to the top were about 1 mile long so I didn’t get to go all the way up. I’m sure the view is amazing but I was quite okay with being down below, since I’m not much for heights unless it’s in an airplane :). The many armed military down below ensured no mad men were going to terrorize the tourists. heh.

Image

About Ian Amidon

I love listening/writing/recording music. I own three cats (Lilly, Leila & Poet) and two husky/lab mix named Cody and Roman. I'm 28 years old and I own my own place which keeps me busy. I have an amazing wife named Nicole and a loving family. I enjoy entertaining others, debating, arguing, eating, drinking, shooting, reloading, shooting again, and social networking.

Posted on December 28, 2012, in Travels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

