A Weekend At Disney (Day 1, Hollywood Studios)

I’ve always wanted to check out what the fuss was all about at Disney World. This December I finally got to go. I had no idea what to expect other than hear say from friends that have gone. I was looking forward to the food, the beer (where they had it) and hell, even the rides. I was always into the mechanics and special effects at theme parks. It’s something my dad got me in to as a kid. Always pointing out how things worked or how cool it would be to be the engineer who designed them. If you think Disney World is just for kids, you are terribly wrong.
Our first park was Hollywood Studios. I had no idea what was inside. The first thing I notice in all parks is how many freaking people are around. This one wasn’t too bad and there was still plenty of room for an out in case of a viral zombie outbreak and or Red Dawn invasion (things I pay attention to when in an area full people). Our first ride was the Aerosmith ride known as the Rock N’ Roller Coaster. The line was about a 15-20 minute wait which took us through several display cases of old recording studio equipment and band posters. Image

Image

Image

At the beginning of the ride, you’re behind a window looking into a replica of Aerosmiths recording studio. Inside of the recording studio towards the back facing you is a big screen that plays a visual recording of the band interacting with the crowd. Always thought that stuff was cool and it kinda felt like they were actually there. The ride itself was worth the wait. It blasted popular Aerosmith songs with an inner city ally like theme at the start. Most of the ride was dark with a few lit up spots and glow in the dark signs. I haven’t been on too many coasters that are in the dark but it made it even more rad.

Image

The next ride we went on was the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror. I remember seeing the movie on the Disney channel as a kid. I believe it was one of my favorites back then. The line was about a 35 minute wait, winding through green trees and plants. As soon as you set foot inside the building, an eerie feeling falls upon you. The “lobby” of the hotel is set up to look old and haunted. I love scary movies, horror movies, ect. So immediately loved the setting.

Image

Image

Image

The ride was awesome. We had three monks with us, so it was even more radtastic. If you don’t like that elevator stomach feeling, then this ride is not for you. The twilight zone special effects were the coolest part in my opinion. It was a mix of holograms, projectors, screens, and fog. Then the elevator drops, goes up, drops, goes up, drops, up again, down, up, and down one more time :).

We then made out way to the Star Wars ride. The line was the coolest part for me. Lots of recognizable characters that were robotic, hologram, or on screen. The ride consisted of several rows of seats in a space ship like vehicle. Once strapped in, a movie screen lit up in front of you, simulating outer space. The vehicle moved as if you were flying and what not. Pretty cool but not as exciting as a real roller coaster:PImage

Image

Image

We finally made it over to “The Great Movie Ride”. This had to be one of my favorites. It was a slow ride that took us through several replica scenes from famous movies over the passed 70-80 years or so. Tons of mechanics and special effects as well as real actors. I couldn’t take much photos because we were constantly moving and there was no flash allowed. The ones that did turn out  however were at the Wizard of Oz scene, which is one of my favorite movies.

Image

Image

Image

By now it was night time. I love the lights and how everything looks when its lit up in a theme park. I tend to take lots of pictures of it so here’s a few…
Image

ImageImage

Image

The final event of the night was a live show called Fantasmic. I had no idea what the hell was going on or what i was witnessing. All I know is it had Mickey Mouse, boats, fire, projections on water, more fire, fire works, Disney characters, and lots of freaking water. I took about 700 photos but I’ll only share a few. This part was my favorite out of the three we went to.

ImageImageImageImageImage

About Ian Amidon

I love listening/writing/recording music. I own three cats (Lilly, Leila & Poet) and two husky/lab mix named Cody and Roman. I'm 28 years old and I own my own place which keeps me busy. I have an amazing wife named Nicole and a loving family. I enjoy entertaining others, debating, arguing, eating, drinking, shooting, reloading, shooting again, and social networking.

Posted on December 30, 2012, in Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow that’s rad!! I want to go there now. haha.

Leave a Reply

