My Thoughts/Opinions On “Gun Control”

A popular subject now days, is it not? 60,000 dead in Syria, North Korea still being ass bags, fiscal cliff nonsense, lunatics being allowed to spew hatred at military funerals as well as the Sandy Hook funerals, and from what it sounds like, “gun control” is still the main thing to talk about among the social networks and the media still. Let me add in this little rant right now that I am pro hand gun, pro assault rifle, and pro freedom. The 2nd amendment is the right to bare arms. To prevent the government from too much control. Am I wrong? Lets lay this out the way I’m seeing it now…. I have to warn you though, it may get unorganized, crazy, loud, and if you’re easily offended, stop reading now and return to your government controlled life.

First things first, guns don’t kill people, people do. It seems recently that all gun owners have now been stereotyped as “a lunatic waiting to go mad and kill people”. When people get into a debate with me, the most common question is “why would you need an assault rifle?” Well, it’s not a matter of “need”, it’s a matter of “want”. Why would youneed” a sports car that can go 145+ mph? Why would anyone want to own something such as a car that kills thousands of people a year? It just doesn’t make sense to me and their argument becomes invalid to me. Sure a car is a much more needed thing on a daily basis than a gun, I’ll give you that. Here is a little scenario for you. You and your loved one are walking in the park. It’s late and the only light you have to guide you is the distant street lamp. A dark figure emerges from the shadows. This figure assaults you first by…lets say…a nice blow to the head rendering you dazed and confused. This figure then turns to your loved one and begins beating them. It’s a robbery sure, but the dark figure doesn’t want any of you to remember much detail. Constant attack causes confusion. You stagger to your feet as quick as possible. You notice the dark figure has a knife. This is where it gets tricky for some. Are you ready? The dark figure stabs your loved one once. It’s a bloody wound but not a life threatening one, as far as you know. Let’s pretend you have a Springfield .45 hand gun. You pull out your weapon and with out hesitation you squeeze a polished shiny hollow point round into the back of the figures skull. That’s a win. You’re alive and your loved one now has a better chance of getting to a hospital alive and not the morgue. Now what if you didn’t have a gun? Lets say the dark figure kills your loved one and gets away with all your possessions. Sure those are just things, but your loved one is now dead. I’m willing to bet everything I own that you’re going to wish you had a gun at that very moment. No matter what your stance on guns may be. Now I’m not saying everyone needs a gun just to go out and about, but the way our society has been and will get, you may just need some kind of protection in the near future. Who knows? It’s better to have one and not need it than to need one and not have it. You never hear the stories of law abiding citizens using their concealed weapon to gun down an maniac shooting up a mall or a movie theater. Believe it or not it happens often, look it up. So why doesn’t the media tell a story of a heroic act such as one of these? Are they afraid of looking like they are pro gun? Why are they maintaining this “fear” of gun owners? We won’t ever know because the majority never ask questions anymore. They never look things up for themselves and they never stop watching the news and think outside the box.

Here’s a few things to think about. Lets compare guns to pit bulls. Everyone knows someone who loves pit bulls and probably owns one. Great dog, awesome dog actually. But sadly the dog has been stained as a terror in society. They are looked at as vicious, uncontrolled animals who attack people for no reason. It’s just in their blood (so they say). However most pit bull lovers will say “it’s not the dog, it’s the people who train them to be that way.” Sound familiar? Of course it’s not the dog! It’s not the gun either, it’s the user. I’m pretty sure some states have made pit bulls illegal. Yet some people still got a hold of one. So next time a pit bull attacks a small child, can we ban pit bulls and have them all turned in and destroyed? Doesn’t make much sense does it? The government would love for all citizens to be unarmed. The same government that shot into crowds of Vietnam protestors in the 1960’s/1970’s, killing innocent people. When the government started shooting unarmed people, did we threaten to have guns taken away? No we didn’t.

So let’s look cities that have strict gun laws. Any one of those cities will probably have a higher crime rate, I promise you. Now take those cities and look up the statistics of those crimes. Was guns and knives used in most of them? I bet they were. So what does that tell you? Come on I know you can get it! That’s it….that’s it! YES! A criminal still used a gun?! But you thought they banned them right? Yes you are right, congrats! They have successfully taken away the means for law abiding citizens to protect themselves and criminals are still getting guns. Why? Because they are criminals, it’s what they do. So good job, you are all victims now. I own a gun because I choose not to be a victim when shit hits the fan. At least I stand some kind of chance when and if the day comes when a maniac unloads in a mall and I happen to be in the line of fire. So what else can the government do to control guns? A few things actually. They can put a tax on all people with a registered weapon. Either give up your gun or pay an outrages tax on each registered weapon you own. They could also make it required for gun owners to register every weapon they own that is unregistered to begin with. If you don’t, and you get caught, you become a felon. Another option is Obama deciding to give the order to the national guard to go door to door and force you to give up your weapons or you may be arrested. That one is a little out there but I like referencing all possibilities because it has happened before through out history 🙂

Now lets pretend any of those ideas actually happened. What do you think would happen? A rebellion I hope! I would hope the country would wake up and see what the hell is actually happening. The government, stripping all weapons from the people. Creating a defenseless society and hindering it’s ability and its right to prevent the government from any more control over the people. I for one will have no problem defending and dying for a right I believe in. Sadly, those who preach rebellion or any form of uprising are quickly cut down by media and labeled “terrorists”. I’m pretty sure it’s already been made illegal to form any kind of militia now days. Another example of government control. So what does this all mean? Is the government slowly trying to created an unarmed society for a quick and easy take over in the near future? Was the documentary “Zeitgeist” right? A world divided up into four unions, all controlled by a one world government? Three of four unions already near full government control and the North American section still slowly being converted and controlled into the hands of the government. Who knows? All I know is I believe that our freedoms are slowly being destroyed not only by our own government but ourselves as well. Our society has become weak and soft. Sorry to say but you are all a bunch of softies. We have grown to fear the world outside our own homes. We have glued ourselves within the safety of our homes and the walls that protect us. We have allowed a society to be controlled by “someone who’s paid to do so” rather than ourselves because we have given up our voice. People who shoot up movie theaters, schools, malls, or any other public place clearly have some mental issue and are just sick twisted freaks with an agenda to harm others. A gun just so happened to be their weapon of choice. If they didn’t have a gun, lord knows they would’ve used a knife, a bomb, maybe a car, anything. We need to teach our children and others the value of human life. Maybe bring back gun safety in public schools because believe it or not, it use to exist. Maybe the media should stop being so damn slanted and report some positive out comes on guns. I will always own a gun and I will teach my loved ones how to properly use it. I will teach my girlfriend how to use them with confidence and accuracy. My house was robbed not to long ago. What if my girlfriend was in it at the time? What might of happened to her if some asshole broke in and saw that she was unarmed? I don’t even want to think about it. I’ll tell you what will happen IF someone breaks in and she happens to be there. She would blow them to hell with a 12 gauge shot gun and paint the wall red. I’ve always had a thing for red. So my opinion is this. Own your gun, love your gun, know your gun. Love your rights and know the laws. Hope and pray you will never have to use it on anyone for any reason but know it’s there for your protection. No one will take my weapons away and if they do, it will be over my dead body.

Coming soon: My thoughts & opinions on our crumbling society.

About Ian Amidon

I love listening/writing/recording music. I own three cats (Lilly, Leila & Poet) and two husky/lab mix named Cody and Roman. I'm 28 years old and I own my own place which keeps me busy. I have an amazing wife named Nicole and a loving family. I enjoy entertaining others, debating, arguing, eating, drinking, shooting, reloading, shooting again, and social networking.

Posted on January 4, 2013, in It Just Makes Sense, Things To Think About. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I disagree with you, but you write well and are entertaining (grin). Good post.

Leave a Reply

