Salzburg, Austria

This was one of my favorite cities I visited in Europe. After a long scenic drive through Germany I finally made it to Austria were I was greeted with a huge billboard of Arnold Schwarzenegger sitting in a car with a wife and two kids. It appears they are quite proud of the Austria born actor. I immediately said to myself “no, Arnold… I’LL be back”. I wish I had taken a picture but in all the excitement I drove right by. From what I remember correctly, Salzburg seems divided up into two towns. There’s smaller restaurants and hotels on one side and shops, restaurants, museums, castles, hotels, houses, ect. on the other side. There is a wall of mountain and rock running in between the two and the only way to the other side is a long bored out tunnel made for small vehicles, bicyclists and pedestrians. There were a few shops inside the tunnel but when I went through it that night they were all closed. It takes about five to ten minutes to make it through the tunnel. The first thing you see coming out of it is a huge lit up granite wall that I think was carved out by man but hell, it could be natural.
Image

The art and the architecture was simply amazing. It began to feel like a movie theater set to me. Everything was close and tall. You couldn’t really see around or over buildings. Lots of back lighting gave everything a some what exciting yet eerie feeling.
Image

The smell of bakeries filled the streets. There was candy, meat, bread, and wine shops all over the place. Even huge department stores that you wouldn’t of known they were there unless you went inside. I decided to grab dinner and found a nice restaurant/pub on the corner of an intersection. It had a friendly vibe with only a hand full of people sitting down. Most were inside drinking and watching the rugby game. I looked through the menu and of course everything was in German. I looked at the most recognizable thing and ordered it; Schweineschnitzel (pork) with rice and mushroom sauce.
Image

During my meal I met someone very interesting. Her name was “Mary”. She was eavesdropping on a conversation I was having about gun laws. She interrupted and asked if I was a missionary. I said no. She then said I had the light of Jesus shining out of me and wanted to touch me and what not. So I decided to take a picture with her. Austria officially rocks.
Image

The next day I walked around Salzburg a bit more. Checking out shops and trying new foods and beer. The food is amazing and the beer is form the gods. I don’t think I’ll ever find a beer back in the states that I can enjoy as much as the beer in Austria. Sometime around lunch I stumbled over this house that stuck out like a sore thumb. It belonged to Mozart.
Image
Image

The people are very friendly and are always up for a good conversation in English. Lots of soap shops for gifts to bring back home. Not a whole lot of vehicle traffic so walking through the city is quite peaceful. It’s also one of the cleanest cities I’ve seen in Europe. This place is definitely on my list to revisit the next time I go to Europe. Soon. Very soon!

About Ian Amidon

I love listening/writing/recording music. I own three cats (Lilly, Leila & Poet) and two husky/lab mix named Cody and Roman. I'm 28 years old and I own my own place which keeps me busy. I have an amazing wife named Nicole and a loving family. I enjoy entertaining others, debating, arguing, eating, drinking, shooting, reloading, shooting again, and social networking.

Posted on January 15, 2013, in Travels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

