My Time In Germany

I don’t know where to begin with this post. Over a year ago I spent several days in a variety of cities in southern Germany. Cities like Landau, Speyer, Munich, and Karlsruhe. After a ten hour flight that went straight over the top of the world from Alaska to Frankfurt, I finally sat foot on German soil. I’ll have to admit, the name Hitler, Nazi, World War II, tiger tank, SS, and invasion kept running through my mind. I know we are long past those days but I’m pretty sure It’s been a long time since an Amidon visited Germany :P. Everything was different. The smells, the buildings, the language, the pace, the way the sun hit me. I loved it. Suicidal driving at 100000 kph surrounded by BMWs and VWs. One of the most memorable things for me was the beer. Oh boy the beer. You can’t even find as good beer here in the states as I did in Germany. I was never a beer fan until my trip to Europe.
ImageImage

Of course I had to try REAL Absinth!
Image

The cities were massive. The streets seemed so much smaller than American streets. The cars were also smaller and more compact. Hell I remember seeing several of those shops that sell that tiny ass two person cars. I like to call those things coffins on wheels because that’s basically what it is, in America anyhow. I enjoy walking around. I did it for hours. Something about each city being so old with so much history. I kept thinking of all the people who have seen what I was looking at, at that very moment. I went inside countless churches and castles. I saw hundreds of tombs filled with kings, princesses, princes, high ranking officers, and rich people. Endless. Here are some photos so I can stop talking.
ImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

IImage

I only saw the tip of the iceberg. The food was amazing as well as the wine. I went to a few “winefests” in Germany & France and they had this stuff called new wine. It’s exactly what it sounds like. Wine that was made just hours before. It tasted like juice. I was NEVER a wine fan until I tried new wine. They would pour a huge mason jar for you. The fruity bubbly taste was beautiful and I couldn’t get enough of it. I slowly felt my legs become as light as a feather, I was invincible. Sorry for a short travel post. I wish I had a blog during my trip. If I did it would be pages long but this is all I will leave you. Germany is amazing and I want to go back in the near future. I miss the beer, the excitement, the language, the food, and the history.

About Ian Amidon

I love listening/writing/recording music. I own three cats (Lilly, Leila & Poet) and two husky/lab mix named Cody and Roman. I'm 28 years old and I own my own place which keeps me busy. I have an amazing wife named Nicole and a loving family. I enjoy entertaining others, debating, arguing, eating, drinking, shooting, reloading, shooting again, and social networking.

Posted on January 24, 2013, in Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

