Things To Do Before I’m Forty

bucket-list1 Things to do before I’m forty. A good friend approached me with this one the other week and challenged myself and Nicole to think of a few things. I figured I’d make it into a blog and try to get some fun participation from my readers. The list can be endless with me but I’ll try to keep it simple yet fun. If you would like to throw your list in via comments or pm please do so! Here goes nothing.

1. Travel To Italy 

I mean who the hell doesn’t want to visit Italy? This is probably one of my all time must do and must do freaking quick! I’ve always been fascinated with Italy and everything it has to offer, which to my knowledge is food, history, beautiful sites, and food. Yes I know that’s not all but I suppose I’ll just have to find out huh? Selfies with the coliseum, naked statues, white sand beaches, endless Italian food. The list could go on….and on…..and on. Just give me four weeks and a lonely planet book.

Italy

2. Sky Dive 

Now I had no interest in doing this until I met Adam Chapman. He was the first person I’ve met who didn’t just sky dive once, but made it into a hobby. Hearing his experiences and stories of the adrenaline rush one gets before and after jumping out of a perfectly good airplane was enough to persuade me to do it. I’m a fairly homey kind of guy, but once I get my adventure ball rolling, it’s on.

Dive

3. Cage Dive With A Great White Shark

I’m scared of them. Well maybe not scared of them but I’m sure as hell scared of being eaten alive. How much would that suck huh? At the same time, one must conquer their fears by facing them. So I want to face a great white shark. I want to face them right in their face with a GoPro. Then I’m gonna take a photo of me facing their face and Facebook it via Wifi as I’m in the shark cage being a fear facing facer guy. Yeah. shark

4. Travel To The Philippines 

I’ve always wanted to trace back some roots on that particular side of the family. This one is a long shot but it really doesn’t have to be. I want to spend several weeks traveling around with a small bag, my lady, my camera, and one hell of an appetite. Part of me loves the grime and grit of traveling deep into a city and really absorbing the culture and all it has to offer. I want to go to place not many of the people I know would ever be able to go and maybe bring back a little to share with them.

ss

5. Have A Kid…Or Two

Babies! More Amidons! You know you all want more Amidons in your life. I hope some day to have a kid on the way (whenever the Mrs. is ready of course). Being the greatest creation my parents have ever….created (this includes my sisters Caiti and Alex. Love you punks) , why not give them a creation created by the greatest creation of creations?

ian

6. Visit Europe for A Second Time

I LOVE Europe and I certainly didn’t get enough of it. Not even the tip of the iceberg if you ask me. I will always be a history freak, especially World War 1&2. I’d like to take another four solid weeks and just backpack around with the lady and camera. France, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium (waffles bro!). This one is also a not soon but freakin soon pleasekthxbye.

eurotrip-51880e7e85136

7. Get Married

Most of the people I know want to get married or already are and as far as some of you may know, I’ve jumped on the band wagon already! Yes that’s right. I found the winner of the ol’ ball n chain contest and shes the best ever. I’m thankful that she puts up with my nonsense and rebellious habits. We will be getting married in the Florida Keys on December 19th, 2015. You can check that box!

JS

8. Meet A Navy Seal

Considered one of the worlds most lethal war fighter. I admire these guys and their skills in combat. I could only dream of being one and I would love to listen to one of their stories, assuming I met one that was okay with telling one of course. Next lifetime I’ll join up :P.

danny-dietz-marcus-luttrell

About Ian Amidon

I love listening/writing/recording music. I own three cats (Lilly, Leila & Poet) and two husky/lab mix named Cody and Roman. I'm 28 years old and I own my own place which keeps me busy. I have an amazing wife named Nicole and a loving family. I enjoy entertaining others, debating, arguing, eating, drinking, shooting, reloading, shooting again, and social networking.

Posted on April 11, 2015, in Just A Blog, This Is How I Drink My Bourbon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Love your list! -Except for the swimming with the shark thing :p

    Cheers,
    Hiba
    http://www.cloudoflace.com

  2. Nice Bucket List. I am a Filipino and no bias but you should really visit the Philippines. It’s nice here. 😀

Leave a Reply

